Pomphlett Primary School Horizone MAT

Pomphlett Primary School

Believe - achieve - succeed


Overall responsibility for the governance of Pomphlett Primary School is held by the Board of Directors of the Horizon Multi-Academy Trust, though it devolves many responsibilities to the school's Local Governing Board (LGB). 


Please find below details of how the LGB is constituted and structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

The LGB is a group of committed individuals who work in partnership with the Headteacher to ensure the school runs smoothly and effectively and is constantly striving to improve the quality of service it provides.

The LGB is made up of different people representing different parts of the school community:

  • The Chair of Governors  - Mrs Sam Smith

                                                   email :


  • Co-opted governors - Colin Burrows and Helen Connett
  • Parent governors - David Flewin and Philip Marsh
  • Staff governors - Bonnie Venning and Laura Biggs
  • Headteacher -  Claire Makelis


The clerk to the governors is Mrs Kim Hall.